My Favorite Podcasts

I love Podcasts. I especially love podcasts that explore the human experience through storytelling, and I’ve listed my favorites below. They are so good and juicy and funny and happy and heartbreaking and totally beautiful. The stories and speakers are real and their experiences are evocative. These podcasts help me escape from the bubble of my own daily routine and make me feel more connected to the world.

  1. This American Life  “There’s a theme to each episode of This American Life, and a variety of stories on that theme. Most of the stories are journalism, with an occasional comedy routine or essay.” The episodes are interesting, informative, relevant, occasionally funny, and always compelling. The host, Ira Glass, is amazing and makes me wildly interested in topics I didn’t even know I cared about. I genuinely get excited to listen to new shows, haha.
  2. The Moth – “Each show starts with a theme, and the storytellers explore it, often in unexpected ways. Since each story is true and every voice authentic, the shows dance between documentary and theater, creating a unique, intimate, and often enlightening experience for the audience.” This is another weekly podcast that I look forward to because it’s so entertaining. The stories are short, but provide vivid glimpses inside the minds of interesting people from all walks of life. I saw it performed live last year and loved it.
  3. Modern Love – This podcast features celebrities reading the beautifully written Modern Love column from the New York Times, followed by comments from the actual authors. The stories explore the complexities of love, loss and redemption. They are all so refreshingly real and intimate.
  4. Death, Sex and Money – This show is about the “big questions and hard choices that are often left out of polite conversation.” The host, Anna Sale is very likable and endearing. Her interviews with guests are very down-to-earth, yet very revealing. I’m hooked.

I listen to these four podcasts obsessively, but I also subscribe to many others that I enjoy. My honorable mentions go to Ted Radio Hour, Hidden Brain, Invisibilia, Strangers, The Memory Palace, Love & Radio, Song Exploder, All Songs Considered, Serial, Women of the Hour with Lena Dunham, and Radio Diaries.  I love to listen to them when I’m stuck in traffic or in the kitchen. (Here’s a blog post listing 7 great podcast episodes from these shows if you want a good place to start.)

I’m always looking for new juicy podcasts. What are your favs?

 

 

Leave a Reply

